Taranaki Art News
Sign up for our monthly Email Newsletter about new exhibitions
 January 2018


Virtual Tart Exhibition
The exhibition on the Virtual Tart site for January 2018 is: Un collage par jour
Collages by Philippe Lemaire of France.


Coming Soon - (a new exhibition each month)
(email Dale if you're interested in having an exhibition on the Virtual TART site)

2018

February -   Tart Art
40 Taranaki artists show their work.

March -   WordART
An open exhibition. Click here for details.

April -   Recent Work
by Dale Copeland, New Zealand

May -   Coastal Drawings
by Paul Hutchinson

June -   Reserved as a prize in the Emerging Artist
competitive exhibition being held in the Percy Thomson gallery in April.

August -   ICE20
The 20th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange


The Molloy Gallery, Tataraimaka
Taranaki Art a changing exhibition by selected Taranaki artists.
Open weekends 10 - 4. Well worth a visit.


Percy Thomson Gallery in Stratford
SEE nothing art about the truth/lie dichotomy.
Artworks by 10 artists. Curated by Roger Morris.
Open until 28th January.
Opening 2nd February, HAE HAEA at 7pm
An exhibition by Maori printmakers and clay workers. Curated by Gabrielle Belz.
Opening 2nd March Blue Lies by Amanda Hewlett and Cathy Carter.
Also opening 2nd March Being Known paintings by Jana Branca
Opening March 29th EMERGENCE - the award for young Taranaki artists.


Aotea Utanganui Museum of South Taranaki, Patea
Our Milky Ways exploring the objects that have made the dairy industry into what it is today.
Opening 10.30am Friday 19th January 2018
(For catering purposes at the opening, please RSVP by Friday 12th January 2018, to 0800 111 323 or museum@stdc.govt.nz )


Mokau Museum and Art Gallery, Mokau
Until 25 January 2018
Te Teira/Capon collection, Photographs - 26 portraits of prominent figures in the art world, 1984/5
by renowned Mokau photographer Kevin Capon


Govett Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth
The new summer suite of exhibitions
John Stezaker: Lost World
(Collage workshop by Dale Copeland, 10th February. See govettbrewster.com/events & scroll down for details.)
Len Lye's large 'myth paintings'
Reuben Paterson: The Golden Bearing
Further Alterations - after Billy Apple
Projection Series: until Christmas 'The Long Dream of Waking'. Until end of March 'Len Lye's Jazz'



Gallery Patea
A new gallery has been set up in Patea.
It works with voluntary help, operates on a shoe string, has the good fortune to have generous landlords and operates with the community as its focus..
Thanks to all those factors, we have managed to keep our noses above water.
Click here to see a newsletter to bring you up to date with some of the highlights over the past (almost) twelve months since we opened.


New Plymouth's Mine
A sculpture to display a German naval mine which washed ashore by Belt Road in 1943.
Designed by Dale Copeland, and perfectly constructed by PACE engineering,
Now installed on the Coastal Walkway, just down from Belt Road.
It's a fascinating story, from the newly-formed New Plymouth Bomb Disposal Squad in 1943 up to 2015.
The book is finished and available from Dale. See details on her website.


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook 





These Taranaki artists have more of their work on their own Internet sites:
Dale Copeland at www.dalecopeland.co.nz
Graham Kirk at www.grahamkirk.com
Mili Purpil at www.milipurpil.com
Margaret Scott at www.margaretscott.co.nz
Marianne Muggeridge at www.mariannemuggeridge.nz
Roger Morris at www.rogermorris.nz/
Renate Verbrugge at www.renateverbrugge/
Robert Clement at www.stainedglass-studio.co.nz
Carl Fairweather at www.carlfairweather.com
Michaela Stoneman at www.mbstoneman.com
Paul Hutchinson at www.paulhutchinson.co.nz
and also on his "Another day" blog, at www.http://paul-hutchinson.blogspot.co.nz/
Dorothy Andrews at www.dorothyandrewsartist.com
Amanda Griffin at www.gryphondesign.co.nz

Got some more news for us?
please email


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook